About NDMA


By  2022,  Swaziland  will  have  a  functional  national  disaster  risk  management  system that  minimizes  community  vulnerability  to  hazards  and  effectively  prevents  and mitigates the impact of disasters within the context of sustainable development.


To apply innovative approaches and technologies to enhance community resilience to disaster risks through effective coordination, facilitation and implementation of all disaster risk management initiatives in Swaziland


The goal of this Disaster Risk Management is to prevent and minimize the impact of  disasters  on  vulnerable  communities  and  groups;  develop  response  systems  and standards; and issue timely alerts  on any disaster and help protect the country’s critical infrastructure.


Core Values

  • Pro-activeness: prioritize on prevention before cure
  • Gender sensitivity, humane and compassionate
  • Impartiality: equity,  neutrality,  fairness,  even  handedness,  objectivity  and unbiased
  • Timeliness: Efficiently and effectiveness, responsiveness, and relevance
  • Integrity: accountability, transparency, honesty and confidence
  • Innovation: creativity, visionary, energetic and inspirational
  • Professionalism: high quality, reliability, flexibility
  • Participation: value ideas, inclusive, non-judgmental.




The National Disaster Management Agency (NDMA) is established by the Public Enterprise (Monitoring and Control) Act of 1989 through legal notice No. 8 of 2014. The NDMA was gazetted as Category A Parastatal.

The National Disaster Management Agency (NDMA) as defined by the Disaster Management Act, 2006 is to coordinate a consistent system for disaster risk management in the country. This means the NDMA is responsible for coordinating the development of a system that defines how to prevent, respond to and mitigate the impact of disasters in collaboration with stakeholders.

What is the NDMA?

An Agency established by Government, based in the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister, with the responsibility for the coordination and implementation of national disaster risk reduction/ management (DRR/M) programmes, including disaster prevention, mitigation, adaptation, preparedness, response, recovery and rehabilitation. The functions of the NDMA are also disaggregated to regional and village levels, under the delegated authority of the Regional Disaster Management Committees. These Committees are responsible for developing policies and plans that address the specific requirements of disaster risk management implementation at the regional level.

How was NDMA established?

NDMA was established by an Act of Parliament – the Disaster Management Act of 2006, and supported by related legal and institutional frameworks such as the National Disaster Reduction Management Policy of 2010, the National Disaster Management Strategy and Plan, the National Contingency Plan, and various Disaster Management Manuals.

The mandate of the NDMA is to provide leadership and a well-coordinated framework to guide the development and implementation of the DRR/M programmes and activities, and align them to national and regional development plans, programmes and activities. The NDMA also manages the national emergency operations system. During emergencies, National and Regional Emergency Management Task Forces are established to assist the NDMA to effectively handle the emergencies.

Importance of DRR/ M at NDMA

Swaziland is prone to a variety of natural and man-made hazards and disasters that often cause loss of lives, displacement of affected populations, disruption of social and economic activities, destruction of property and damage to

critical infrastructure. The common hazards and disasters include floods and drought, wildfires, windstorms, hailstorms, extreme temperatures, and health epidemics (including HIV & AIDS, TB, cholera etc). The impact of these hazards and disasters is being increased by climate variability and climate change. Disaster impacts and losses negatively impact on socio-economic development gains and perpetuate vulnerability and poverty in affected communities. The NDMA reports to Cabinet through the National Disaster Management Council (at PSs level) and the Ministerial Disaster Management Team (at Cabinet level).

Who is involved? (Stakeholders)

Disaster risk reduction/ management is cross-cutting and multi-sectoral in nature. While the NDMA provides overall coordination, the various development sectors have the responsibility to implement disaster risk reduction programmes and activities within their respective sectors. The main stakeholder institutions are; Agriculture and Food Security, Health and Nutrition, Water and Sanitation, Environment & Energy, Education, and Social Protection, among others. These include the participation of NGOs, private sector, Red Cross Society and development partners. The NDMA has established Technical Working Groups of stakeholders to assist the Agency in the performance of its duties.